as parents release kids to primary, JS and SS schools

1,845 out of school children have been admitted in Primary, Junior and Secondary schools in Monguno on the first day of grassroots sensitization and mobilization works by a high-powered committee, set up by Borno Governor, Professor Babagana Umara Zulum.

The governor had in his effort to accelerate school enrollment especially in northern Borno, where there is gross out of school numbers, inaugurated a Committee with mandate to go round the state and sensitize parents to enroll their wards in schools. 

After its inauguration back in November, the committee began work on friday begun, starting with Monguno town in the Northern part of Borno state.

The committee had on arriving Monguno started the its activities with a stakeholders meeting where the Chairman of committee Prof. Isa Hussain Marte who is also the Chief of Staff to the Borno Governor, briefed the stakeholders on their mission and thereafter had a fruitful interactive discussions with them.

On Saturday, before commencing the enrollment process, the committee inspected some of the existing primary, junior and senior secondary schools in the town to ascertain the true condition of all the exiting facilities in the town. 

READ:  Kebbi Gov tasks agric researchers on world class crops

At the Monguno Central  primary school which is the venue of enrollment programme Prof. Marte addressed parents and pupils who turned out en mass and thank the Local stakeholders for mobilizing the people despite the short notice. 

Prof. Marte assured stakeholders and parents government would provide all the incentives required to keep the pupils in school. 

The Chairman of Monguno local government Council Alhaji Kyari Ibrahim commeded the courage and patriotism of the governor for initiating the move and thanked members of the committee for making sacrifice to visit Monguno which is considered one of the hard to reach.

An eder to the town, Alhaji Kalla Maina who is also APC State Deputy Chairman thanked Gov. Zulum  for his vission and foresight towards reviving the educational sector in the state and called on the people to rsupport the Governor and orayer for him.

The District Head of Bida, Alhaji Zannah Kaumi Mustapha commended Gov. Zulum for providing visionary leadership and called on him construct more schools in the town.

READ:  Cross River Governor, Ayade, appoints Aides, Heads of Boards, Agencies

Alhaji Mustapha Gambo, Chairman School Base  Management Committee of Central primary school and at the same time the PTA Chairman of Monguno local government area commended Gov. Zulum for reopening schools in the town after 3 years of closure and called on him to  provide them with schools buses to easy transportation problem and in retun motivate pupils. 

In their separate remarks, Bako Alhaji Yusuf and Kachallah Alhaji Bukar who both brought their children for enrollment, prayed for and thanked Gov. Zulum and the members of the committee for providing them with the opportunity to educate their children free of charge. 

The State Advisor on Better Education Service Delivery for All (BESDA), Alhaji Abba Kura Mariu commended the parents for coming out massively to enrolling their wards and assured them that the government under the BESDA programme is poised to reduce out of school children and improve literacy and numeracy in the state. 

READ:  Breaking!! Cross River Gov, Ayade, two others lift suspension on worship

Also, the committee had an interactive session with retired teachers in the local government with the view engaging some of them 

The committee had after concluding their assignment for the day visited the Commander of Sector 3, Operation Lafiya Dole Maj. Gen. S.I Igbinomwanhia to create synergy and collaboration between the military and the committee to ensure success of the programme. In his part, the Commander appreciated the members of the Committee for their visit and assured them the Army is going to work and cooperate with local government and committee to ensure success of the programme. 

Other members of the Committee Hon. Bello Ayuba Commissioner of Education, Dr. Babagana Mallumbe Hon. commissioner Ministry of Higher Education, Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr. Shettima Kullima Chairman (BOSUBEB), Prof. Suleiman Bello Executive Chaoam TSB, Maina Yaumi Executive Secretary ETF and other education stakeholders.