…state grounds for their defection

Six Labour Party (LP) House of Assembly Members in Enugu State have defected to the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmakers stated that their defection was as a result of the “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the Labour Party at the national level and across all the state chapters.

They cited the national leadership tussle between the factions of Julius Abure and Lamidi Apapa as well as the national treasurer as some of the crises within the opposition party.

The six LP Assembly members who defected are:

  1. Ejike Ezeh (Igbo-Eze North 1)
  2. Mr. Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North)
  3. Princess Ugwu (Enugu South Rural)
  4. Mr. Pius Onyeka Ezugwu (Nsukka East)
  5. Mr. Williams T. Amuka (Igbo-Etiti East)
  6. Mr. Osita Eze (Oji River)

They made their defection known on Thursday in Enugu via a letter read by the Speaker, Chief Rt. Hon. Uche Ugwu, during plenary at the Assembly Legislative Complex.

READ:  2027: Hopes of Opposition Parties dim as Atiku, Obi insist on contesting

… more details later

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *