Rivers State Governor, Sir Siminalayi Fubara, has officially sworn in Caretaker Committee Chairmen for all the 23 Local Government Councils of the state.

The ceremony, held on Wednesday at the prestigious Executive Council Chambers of the Government House in Port Harcourt, marks a pivotal moment for the state’s administration.

This development follows the thorough screening and confirmation process conducted by the State House of Assembly earlier today, underscoring Gov Fubara administration’s commitment to efficient and transparent governance.

Commenting on the development, the State’s Chief Executive, via his X handle said:

“In furtherance of our determined steps to stabilise our polity, I swore-in Chairmen of Caretaker Committees to manage the affairs of our 23 Local Government Areas after the expiration of the tenure of the immediate past Chairmen.

As nature abhors a vacuum, our action is to ensure that we don’t give vent to tenure elongation which is alien to our constitution. Upon swearing-in, I charged the caretaker chairmen to protect the interest of their people in the grassroots leadership and to promote peace and order in their domains.

READ:  National Caretaker: Akwa Ibom APC Foundation congratulates Chairman, ors; declares solidarity

As a government that strongly adhere to accountability, I also ordered for the audit of the activities of the administration of the 23 Local Government Areas in the past three years in order to ascertain the proper utilization of funds within the period”.


  1. Hon. Madigai Dickson – Abua/Odual LGA

2. Hon. Happy Benneth- Ahoada-East

3. Hon. Daddy John Green – Ahoada-West

4. Barr. Otonye Briggs – Akuku Toru LGA

5. Barr. Reginald Ekaan – Andoni LGA

6. Hon. Orolosama Peter Amachree – Asari-Toru LGA

7. Alabota Anengi Barasua – Bonny LGA

8. Anthony Soberekon – Degema LGA

9. Brain Gokpa – Eleme LGA

10. David Omereji – Emohua LGA

11. John Otamiri Nkugbo – Etche LGA

12. Kenneth Kpeden – Gokana LGA

13. Hon. Dr. Darlington Orji – Ikwerre LGA

14. Amb. Marvin Yobana – Khana LGA

READ:  What Sen. Akpabio said at his declaration for 2023 Presidency

15. Amb Ihunwo Chijioke – Obio/Akpor

16. Hon. Princewill Ejekwe – ONELGA

17. RT. Hon. Evans Bipi – Ogu-Bolo LGA

18. Princess Ib Ogan – Okrika LGA

19. RT. Hon. Promise Reginald – Omuma LGA

20. Hon. Enyiada Cookey-Gam – Opobo/Nkoro LGA

21. Hon. Gogo Philip – OYIGBO LGA

22. Hon. Ezebunwo Ichemati – PHALGA

23. Hon. Matthew Dike – Tai LGA

    Recall that the state has been going through deep political turmoil in recent times following disagreement between the incumbent governor and his immediate-past predecessor, Chief Nyesom Wike.