The Nigerian Bar Association, Uyo branch has inaugurated a new executive Committee that would pilot the affairs of the organization for the next two years.

The Chairman election committee of the association, Barr. Ekanem Ekanem, at the inauguration of the new officials at the Mandela Hall of Watbridge Hotels & Suites on Wednesday, 30th June, in Uyo, while issuing certificates of return to each of the elected officers at the election conducted by his committee for inauguration enjoined them to see their new positions as a call to serve.

Ekanem on behalf of other members of the election committee, thanked the leadership of the NBA, Uyo branch for the confidence reposed on them to serve the Bar, and pledge to continue in serving.

The outgoing Chairman, Elder Aniema Etuk in his valedictory speech said his administration was the most challenging but purposeful one in the lifespan of the Nigerian Bar Association, Uyo branch in 2019.

READ:  Humanitarian Affairs Minister tasks media on drug abuse enlightenment

In his acceptance speech, tagged ‘putting Uyo Bar First’ the new branch Chairman of the association, Barr. Ememobong Udoh appreciated the effort of the past executive, electoral committee, and all others who contributed in one way or the other to sustain the organization.

According to him, ” on behalf of other members of the incoming Exco, I accept the responsibility to serve. We do not and will never lay claim to omniscience and so we look forward to constructive criticisms.

“Our branch has accomplished great things before a new day dawns. I’m confident that we can do great things again, in unity, solidarity and focus on the greater good, all for the love of
Uyo Bar”, he said.

The new executive officers include Barr. Ememobong Udoh as Chairman; Njideka Nnaji – Vice Chairman; Iniobong Udo – Secretary; Bassey Bassey Ekpa – Asst Secretary; Udeme Udofia Rivers – Publicity Secretary; Maria Akpan – Treasurer; Sunday Uko Afiko – Financial Secretary ; Ifiok Nelson Udoma – Legal Adviser; Sembenge Nse Ekanem – Welfare Secretary; Nsikak Ndarake – Social Secretary and Enoch Godwin as Provost.

READ:  Akwa Ibom APC Coalition emerges, poised for progress

©Emmanuel Ufon