… PDP ex-National Chair, others declare support for Tinubu, more in News-In-Brief

CBN Adjusts Dollar Rate Again As Naira Bounces Back

The Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, has once again reviewed downwards the foreign exchange rate for the Nigerian Customs Import Duty.

This is the 5th time in two (2) weeks within the month of March, 2024 management of the apex bank would review the rate in response to gains recorded by the Nigerian currency, Naira.

The following are the rates between 15th and 28th March, 2024:

●15th  March 2024: N1,612/$

●16th  March 2024: N1,593/$

●19th  March 2024: N1,572/$

●23rd  March 2024: N1,448/$

●27th  March 2024: N1,405/$

Meanwhile, the CBN Governor Olayemi Cardoso, has stated that security agencies in Nigeria are doing their best to clampdown on Forex racketeers and the Naira saboteurs. 

The move is aimed at further strengthening the Naira.

Concrete Detailing Begins On Lagos-Calabar Coastal Road

Concrete detailing has begun on the Lagos-Calabar Coastal Road Project. The project is undertaken by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s administration. 

This road project will link about nine coastal States of southern Nigeria.

President Bola Tinubu approves New Tax Reforms

READ:  SUPREME COURT VICTORY: Etinan Council Chairman, congratulates Gov. Umo Eno, A'Ibom people

President Tinubu has approved Tax Reforms that would reduce the number of taxes payable by businesses in Nigeria. 

62 Taxes are set to be reduced to about nine (9) Taxes.

PDP Former National Chairman, Presidential Campaign Council Throw weights behind Tinubu, Fubara

A former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Uche Secondus; and members of the Presidential Campaign Council of the party for the 2023 general elections in Rivers State have declared loyalty and support for President Bola Tinubu and the State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara.

Six LP Lawmakers in Enugu defect to PDP, as INEC disowns Party National Convention

The six LP Assembly members that defected to PDP are:

 1. Ejike Ezeh (Igbo-Eze North 1)

2. Mr. Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North)

3. Princess Ugwu  (Enugu South Rural)

4. Mr. Pius Onyeka Ezugwu (Nsukka East)

5. Mr. Williams T. Amuka  (Igbo-Etiti East)

6. Mr. Osita Eze (Oji River)

They made their defection known on Thursday in Enugu in a letter read by the Speaker, Chief Rt. Hon. Uche Ugwu, during plenary at the Assembly Legislative Complex.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has disowned Wednesday’s Labour Party (LP) National Convention in Anambra.

READ:  Presidential Poll: Akwa Ibom Coordinator of Asiwaju Women Cooperative hails Tinubu

Mr Rotimi Oyekanmi, the Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, said this when he spoke with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja on Thursday.

Oyekanmi said that the conduct of the convention was not monitored by INEC, declining to state further why it was not monitored.

NAN, however, reports that the LP had on Tuesday shifted the convention from Umuahia in Abia to Nnewi, Anambra State.

Speaking on the change in venue, Mr Kehinde Edun, the LP National Legal Adviser, told newsmen that the party had duly informed INEC about the change in venue and date.

“No, it is holding in Anambra. Nnewi, to be precise, not Umuahia in Abia State again. In fact, Umuahia was not even the first venue we chose. Benin was the first choice before we changed to Umuahia and now Nnewi.

“So, we are at liberty to pick any venue of our choice. We only need to inform INEC about the change in venue and time,” Edun said.

Section 82(1) of the Electoral Act, 2022 states that political parties shall give INEC at least 21 days notice of convention, congress, conference or meeting.

READ:  26-years old NOUN former Senate President wins Kwara Assembly Seat

This includes the convention or meeting convened for the purpose of “merger” and electing members of its executive committees, other governing bodies or nominating candidates.

FG to honour military personnel killed in Delta, announces packages 

The Federal Government is set to honour the 17 fallen heroes (military personnel) killed in Delta State. 

1. All 4 Senior Officers Honoured With MON.

2. 13 Soldeirs Honoured With MFR.

3. Full Educational Scholarships For Their Children (Plus Unborn Children) Up To University Level.

4. Houses For Their Families. 

APC inaugurates Six Governors as Renewed Hope Coordinators

APC Under The National  Leadership Of HE Umar Ganduje Has Inaugurated 6 Governors As Coordinators To Promote The Renewed Hope Agenda. 

These Governors Are :

●1. Yobe State Governor, Hon. Mai Mala Buni – North East

●2. Kaduna State Governor, Sen. Uba Sani – North West

●3. Kwara State Governor, Abdulrahaman Abdulrazak – North Central

●4. Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodinma – South East

●5. Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu – South West

●6. Cross River State Governor, Sen. Bassey Otu – South South

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *