As Council Boss Urges Citizens To Adhere To Govt. Guidelines

Members of the Lockdown Monitoring Committee, Itu

By Patrick Antia

In line with the directive of the Akwa Ibom State Government that respective Local Governments should establish monitoring teams to ensure full compliance to the COVID-19 lockdown order, the Executive Chairman of Itu Local Government Council, Hon. Barr. Etetim Onuk on Monday, inaugurated a 7-member Monitoring Committee.

Speaking during the Inauguration, Barr. Onuk said the consistent flouting of the stay-at-home order by some persons obviously necessitated the setting up of the surveillance team, stating that such careless and avoidable acts could lead to further spread of Coronavirus in the state. He observed that the spread of the virus could be halted if people did not move around and warned everyone to desist from acts capable of endangering the populace or be ready to face the full wrath of the law.

The Itu Council boss who urged members of the committee to be diligent, also charged them to remain upright and discharge their duties impartially. He enumerated their terms of reference to include; ensuring compliance to the restriction of vehicular and human movement; except those on essential duties, observing and noting breaches to the provisions of Quarantine and Restriction of Movement Regulation 2020 and report same to the enforcement teams, as well as make periodic report to the State team or immediate notification in case of emergency.

READ:  INVESTIGATION: PHEDC in electricity transformer theft scandal

In her acceptance speech on behalf of members of the committee, the Vice Chairman of Itu Local Government Council and Chairman of the monitoring group; Mrs. Emem Ekpanya, said they would work assiduously towards achieving full compliance and ensure the collective safety of the people. She maintained that the pandemic affected all, which required everyone’s effort to curb further spread.

Members of the Committee include; Mrs. Eno Onuk of the Primary Health Care board, Mr. Orok David E. of the Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps, SUPOL Nseobong Umoh of the Nigerian Police. Others are; Mrs. Kufre S. Udiong, Ms. Unyime Ikpe and Mr. Patrick Antia.